Andraschko’s

What will the new crop bring? This question is not only important to Vineyard people (Wine makers)
…is not only of great importance to vintners but applies equally to coffee farmers and of course roasters.
Vintages change from one year to the next: there are influences of weather, luck and the unpredictability of life. Ultimately the admixture of experience and desire for experimentation will decide how well the new blends come together (or „turn out“).

Based on their origins Andraschko’s would be called a „Kaffeehauswiener“, meaning traditional coffee shop Viennese. Their perspective is that the traditional coffee shop is in need of a new and bigger format. The Viennese Tradition of a coffee shop is historically influenced by „Italianita“ – where both the Espresso in the Italian coffee tradition and the Triest Roasting comes from; this gave Andraschko’s the blue print of their idea of what to do with a raw coffee bean.

The young generation of coffee roasters – mostly American – has been an inspiration. A new consciousness is emerging that motivates us to attain a higher quality product, and also to connect and work in conjunction with coffee growers, thus enabling them to grow single origin high quality beans.

That is how they found their niche between ancient European Traditions and the new world: on the foundation that roasting coffee is not only a classical trade, but also asks for a certain ethos. The patience, the correct machinery and the sensible and professional handling of a raw organic product is what makes Andraschko’s coffee.

Die Andraschkos

Was wohl die neue Ernte bringt? Diese Frage beschäftigt nicht nur Weinbauern, sondern auch Kaffeefarmer – und natürlich uns Kaffeeröster. Kein Jahrgang gleicht dem anderen: das Wetter, das Glück, die Unberechenbarkeit des Lebens. Es ist die richtige Mischung aus Erfahrung und Experimentierfreude, die darüber entscheidet, wie die neuen Blends werden.

Als Kaffeehauswiener könnte man uns in unserem Ursprung bezeichnen. In unseren Augen ist das Kaffeehaus das kulturelle Großformat, das nach einem ebenso großformatigen Kaffee verlangt. Die Wiener Kaffeehaustradition, die historisch mit einer gehörigen Portion »Italianità« beschenkt wurde, aus der der Espresso, als italienische Kaffeetradition und die bewährte Triestiner Röstung entstammt, hat unsere Vorstellung davon geprägt, wie Rohkaffee behandelt werden sollte.

Ebenso inspirierend ist für uns die neue Generation – vor allem amerikanischer Kaffeeröster. Ihnen verdanken wir das neue Bewusstsein, dass wir uns aktiv um Qualität bemühen müssen – indem wir besondere Kaffeebauern finden, mit ihnen kooperieren und sie so motivieren, weiterhin singuläre Spitzenkaffees anzubauen.

So haben wir unseren Platz gefunden, irgendwo zwischen altem Europa und neuer Welt. Unsere Basis bildet die Überzeugung, dass das Rösten von Kaffee ein klassisches Handwerk mit ebensolchem Ethos ist. Es fordert Geduld, die richtigen Maschinen und eine Form der Unberechenbarkeit, wie sie uns jener Rohstoff verordnet, mit dem wir tagtäglich zu tun haben: der Kaffee.